Pickled Shallots

29 Mar

Pickled Shallots

I love these! I’ve already used them on steak tacos last night (pictured above) and on my breakfast (GF crumpet, poached egg, pesto oil) this morning. Really easy and quick to make, while adding such a wonderful flavor and texture. I will note that a little goes a long way– I definitely had to remove some from my tacos because they were overwhelming the other ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 1 shallot, thinly sliced rounds
  • 1/4 cup champagne vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt

Preparation:

In a small sauce pan, heat up the vinegar, sugar and salt. Bring to a simmer. Add the shallots and remove from the heat. Let the shallots sit in the brine for about 15-20 minutes. Drain and serve.

2 Responses to “Pickled Shallots”

  1. Julie April 4, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    Would you do a day before and refrigerate? The cold sometimes subdues the harsher flavors….????

    • Lindsey Ebinger April 6, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

      That is exactly what I did. Mainly because I was already cooking a few things and it seemed like a quick, easy thing to make while I was already in the mood. Let me know what you use them on if you make them!

Leave a Reply

